MUSKINGUM COUNTY CLERK OF COURTS
AUTO TITLE DEPARTMENT
22 N. Fifth Street (formerly known
as the JCPennys Building).
Zanesville, OH 43701
Office Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m.
to 5:00 p.m.
Phone Number: (740) 455-7103
Fax Number: (740) 455-7932
The Muskingum County Clerk of Courts would like to take this
opportunity to welcome you to our website. This site was designed to
provide information to the people of Muskingum and surrounding counties. The
Clerk of Courts title department issues titles for motor vehicles, motorcycles,
off-road bikes, ATVs, travel trailers, campers, mobile homes and watercraft
boats, motors and jet skis or wave runners. Duplicates for lost or stolen
titles and memorandums can also be issued through our office.
The following information is needed in order to obtain a
certificate of title.
Must have proper ID (i.e. driver’s license, state issued identification
Make sure the title has been notarized to you (for notarization
information see the link "Notary Book"
Make sure the current mileage is written on the back of the title
NEVER make any alterations, erasures or use whiteout on a certificate of
title as this will VOID the title and a replacement title will need to be
processed. An application for replacement title will need to be completed
and a fee of $15.00 is required.
If purchasing a used vehicle from out-of-state a serial number
inspection is required and this can be done at any new car dealer, several used
car dealers, and the BMV. Locations of inspections stations in Muskingum
County may be obtained by calling our office.
Your SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER is REQUIRED by law when applying for a
title. (This will NOT be printed on your title).
If two names are to appear on the title, both signatures are required
for all transactions (selling and/or buying)
Transfer of title must be made within 30
days of notary date or there will be a $5.00 penalty.
DO NOT leave your title in your car. This is your only proof of
All fees are payable by Cash, Certified Check, Money Order, Visa,
Master Card and Discover
These fees apply to both
Motor Vehicle and Watercraft titles
Salvage Certificate of
Memorandum (Customers’ copy when
is noted on Title)
Notation of Lien on New
Notation of Lien on Existing
Notarization of Title application or affidavits
Late fee (if title is not transferred within 30
Mobile Home Archive
Out of State Physical
Vehicle & Watercraft General Information
If your original title is lost,
stolen, or destroyed, a duplicate can be issued with proper ID and $15.00
fee. Application will be processed in our office or one can be downloaded
from our web page under “ FORMS".
Memorandum Certificate of Title
can not be transferred. It is issued only for the purpose of obtaining
license plates when the original title is being held by the lienholder.
New resident to the State of Ohio
– the following is needed to get an Ohio title
Out of State title
Serial number inspection
If owned less than six months a bill of sale showing purchase price and
taxes paid. If you paid less than 7.25% (Muskingum county tax rate) additional
taxes will be collected.
Proper ID and Social Security number
If a bank or finance company is holding you title we need to contact
them. We will need the name of the company, address, phone number, year,
make, and serial number from the vehicle. DO NOT wait until your plates
have expired to take care of the paper work as this could take 2 to 4 weeks to
get your title from the lienholder.
NO person can sign for you without
a notarized Power of Attorney. This form is available at our office,
banks, and car dealership. It can also be downloaded from our web page
All trailers weighing over 4,000
pounds, travel trailers, slide in truck campers and fold down campers must be
titled. A title is not required on utility trailers weighing less than
4,000 pounds or boat trailers. To obtain license plates they are required
to be weighed. Contact the BMV for more information – phone number and
hours listed below.
Surviving spouse is entitled to
two vehicles (passenger, pickup truck, or motorcycle) with a combined value not
to exceed $40,000.00. One boat and one motor may also be titled to the
surviving spouse. Certified copy of the death certificate and
surviving spouse affidavit (which can be downloaded under “FORMS”) must be presented with the
title. A Probate Court Affidavit to Transfer is required for all other
A vehicle can be titled to two
owners with rights of survivorship. This requires both signatures to purchase
or sell the vehicle. When one party passes away, the survivor brings the
title and a certified copy of the Death Certificate to transfer title into
his/her name. You may also complete an affidavit for designation of
beneficiary if you are the sole owner of a motor vehicle or watercraft.
This will allow the beneficiary or beneficiaries to bring in a Certified Copy
of the Death Certificate and the title will be transferred into in their name
Effective March 4, 2002, the State
of Ohio legislative passed SB 59, the Cross-County Titling law. This
allows an Ohio resident to obtain a title in any county regardless of where
they reside. The sales tax will be calculated based on your county of
Effective July 1, 1999 ATV’s and
Off-Road Motorcycles must be titled before a registration can be issued or
renewed. Used ATV’s or Off-Road motorcycles not titled must have a serial
number inspection before titling. Please call our office for any
additional paperwork that might be needed for titling
When selling a vehicle - you are
still responsible for that vehicle until the new buyer(s) has the title completely
put into their name(s).
Effective January 1, 2000,
watercraft less than 14 feet in length with a permanent affixed mechanical
means of propulsion of 10 HP or more will be required to be titled. This
includes wave runners, jet skis, and jet boats.
The Clerk of Courts Auto Title Department DOES NOT issue
license plates, driver’s license or 30 day tags. These are issued through
the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles which is located at:
2328 June Parkway
South Zanesville, OH 43701
Their hours of operations are:
8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday – Friday 8:00
a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.